van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Auvers-sur-Oise, 10 July 1890
Relevant paintings:


"Old vinyard with peasant woman," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

Mon cher Théo et chère Jo,

De ces premiers jours-ci, certes j'aurais dans des conditions ordinaires espéré un petit mot de vous déjà.

Mais considérant les choses comme des faits accomplis - ma foi - je trouve que Théo, Jo et le petit sont un peu sur les dents et d'ailleurs moi aussi suis loin d'être arrivé à quelque tranquillité.

Souvent, très souvent je pense à mon petit neveu - est-ce qu'il va bien ? Jo voulez-vous me croire - si cela vous arrive de nouveau ce que j'espère, d'avoir encore d'autres enfants - ne les faites pas en ville, accouchez à la campagne et restez-y jusqu'à ce que l'enfant ait 3 ou 4 mois. A présent il me semble que l'enfant n'ayant encore que 3 mois; déjà le lait devient rare, déjà vous êtes,comme Théo,fatiguée trop. Je ne veux pas dire du tout éreintée, mais enfin les ennuis prennent trop de place, sont trop nombreux et vous semez dans les épines.

C'est pourquoi que je vous donnerais à penser de ne pas aller en Hollande cette année-ci, c'est très, très coûteux toujours le voyage, et jamais cela a fait du bien. Si, cela fait du bien si vous voulez à la mère, qui aimera à voir le petit - mais elle comprendra et préférera le bien-être du petit au plaisir de le voir.

D'ailleurs elle n'y perdra rien, elle le verra plus tard. Mais - sans oser dire que ce soit assez - quoi qu'il en soit, il est certes préférable que père, mère et enfant prennent un repos absolu d'un mois à la campagne.

D'un autre côté, moi aussi, je crains beaucoup d'être ahuri et trouve étrange que je ne sache aucunement sous quelles conditions je suis parti - si c'est comme dans le temps à 150 par mois en trois fois. Théo n'a rien fixé et donc pour commencer je suis parti dans l'ahurissement.Y aurait-il moyen de se revoir encore plus calme - je l'espère, mais le voyage en Hollande je redoute que ce sera un comble pour nous tous.

Je prévois toujours que cela fait souffrir l'enfant plus tard d'être élevé en ville. Est-ce que Jo trouve cela exagéré, je l'espère, mais enfin je crois que pourtant il faut être prudent.

Et je dis ce que je pense, parce que vous comprenez bien que je prends de l'intérêt à mon petit neveu et tiens à son bien-être; puisque vous avez bien voulu le nommer après moi, je désirerais qu'il eût l'âme moins inquiète que la mienne, qui sombre.

Parlons maintenant du Dr Gachet. J'ai été le voir avant-hier, je l'ai pas trouvé.

De ces jours-ci je vais très bien, je travaille dur, ai quatre études peintes et deux dessins.

Tu verras un dessin d'une vieille vigne avec une figure de paysanne. Je compte en faire une grande toile.

Je crois qu'il ne faut aucunement compter sur le Dr Gachet. D'abord il est plus malade que moi à ce qu'il m'a paru, ou mettons juste autant, voilà. Or lorsqu'un aveugle mènera un autre aveugle, ne tomberont-ils pas tous deux dans le fossé ?

Je ne sais que dire. Certes, ma dernière crise, qui fut terrible, était due en considérable partie à l'influence des autres malades, enfin la prison m'écrasait et le père Peyron n'y faisait pas la moindre attention, me laissant végéter avec le reste corrompu profondément.

Je peux avoir un logement, 3 petites pièces à 150 francs par an. Cela, si je ne trouve pas mieux, et j'espère trouver mieux, en tout cas est préférable au trou à punaises chez Tanguy et d'ailleurs j'y trouverais un abri moi-même et pourrais retoucher les toiles, qui en ont besoin. De telle façon les tableaux s'abîmeraient moins et en les tenant en ordre la chance d'en tirer quelque profit augmenterait. Car - je ne parle pas des miennes - mais les toiles Bernard, Prévot, Russell, Guillaumin, Jeannin, qui étaient égarées là, c'est pas leur place.

Or des toiles comme celles-là - encore une fois des miennes je ne parle pas - c'est de la marchandise, qui a et gardera une certaine valeur et la négliger c'est une des causes de notre gêne mutuelle.

Cela m'attriste bien un peu de avoir insister sur ce que tu m'envoies une partie au moins du mon mois dès la commencement. Mais je ferai encore mon possible de trouver que tout va bien.

I1 est certain, je crois que nous songeons tous au petit, et que Jo dise ce qu'elle veut. Théo comme moi j'ose croire se rangeront à son avis. Moi je ne peux dans ce moment que dire que je pense qu'il nous faut du repos à tous. Je me sens - raté. Voilà pour mon compte - je sens que c'est là le sort que j'accepte et qui ne changera plus.

Mais raison de plus, mettant de côté toute ambition, nous pouvons des années durant vivre ensemble sans nous ruiner de part ou d'autre. Tu vois qu'avec les toiles qui sont encore à Saint-Rémy, il y en a au moins 8 avec les 4 d'ici, je cherche à ne pas perdre la main.Cela c'est absolument pourtant la vérité, c'est difficile d'acquérer une certaine facilité de produire et, en cessant de travailler, je la perdrais bien plus vite et plus facilement, que cela m'ait coûté de peines pour y arriver. Et la perspective s'assombrit, je ne vois pas l'avenir heureux du tout.

Écris-moi par retour, si tu n'as pas encore écrit, et bonnes poignées de main en pensée, j'espérerais qu'il y eût une possibilité de se revoir bientôt à têtes plus reposées.

Vincent


At this time, Vincent was 37 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 10 July 1890 in Auvers-sur-Oise. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 648.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/21/648-fr.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback

van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Auvers-sur-Oise, 10 July 1890
Relevant paintings:


"Old vinyard with peasant woman," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

My dear Theo and dear Jo,

Under ordinary circumstances I should certainly have hoped for a line from you these first few days.

But considering how things have happened - my goodness - I think that Theo, Jo and the little one are a little on edge and are worn out - and besides, I myself am also far from having reached any kind of tranquillity.

Often, very often I think of my little nephew - is he well? Jo, believe me - if ever you happen, as I hope, to have more children - don't get them in the city, have your confinement in the country and stay there until the child is three or four months old. At present it seems to me that while the child is still only 3 months old, your milk is already drying up, already - like Theo - you are too tired. I do not at all mean to say exhausted, by anyway worries are looming too large, and are too numerous, and you are sowing among thorns.

That is why I would ask you to consider not going to Holland this year; the journey is always very, very expensive, and it never does any good. Yes, it will surely delight Mother, who will like to see the little one - but she will understand, and will prefer the well-being of the little one to the pleasure of seeing him.

Besides, she would lose nothing, she will see him later. But - without daring to say that this is enough - however it may be, it is certainly preferable that father, mother and child should take a month of absolute rest in the country.

On the other hand, I very much fear that I too was distressed, and I think it strange that I do not in the least know under what conditions I left - if it is at 150 francs a month paid in three installments, as before. Theo fixed nothing and so to begin with I left in confusion. Would there be a way of meeting each other again more calmly? I hope so, but I fear that the journey to Holland will be the last straw for all of us.

I always foresee that the child will suffer later on for being brought up in the city. Does Jo think this exaggerated? I hope so, but anyway I think that one ought to be cautious all the same.

And I say what I think, because you quite understand that I take an interest in my little nephew and am anxious for his well-being: since you were good enough to name him after me, I should like him to have a less troubled soul than mine, which is foundering.

Now speaking about Dr. Gachet. I went to see him the day before yesterday, I did not find him in.

Just now I am very well, I am working hard, have painted four studies and two drawings.

You will see a drawing of an old vineyard with the figure of a peasant woman. I intend to make a big canvas of it.

I think that we must not count on Dr. Gachet at all. First of all, he is sicker than I am, I think, or shall we say just as much, so that's that. Now when one blind man leads another blind man, don't they both fall into the ditch?

I don't know what to say. Certainly my last attack, which was terrible, was in a large measure due to the influence of the other patients, and then the prison was crushing me, and old Peyron didn't pay the slightest attention, leaving me to vegetate with the rest, all deeply tainted.

I can get a lodging, three small rooms at 150 fr. a year. That, if I find nothing better, and I hope to find a better one, is in any case preferable to the bedbug infested hole at Tanguy's, and besides, I should find a shelter for myself and could retouch the canvases that need it. So that the pictures will be less ruined, and by keeping them in good condition, there will be a greater chance of getting some profit out of them. For - I don't speak of my own - but the canvases by Bernard, Prévost, Russell, Guillaumin and Jeannin were going to ruin there, it is no place for them.

Now canvases like these - again I do not speak of my own - are merchandise which has kept and keeps a certain value, and their neglect is one of the causes of our mutual penury.

It makes me a little sad to have to insist that you send me at least a part of my monthly allowance from the beginning. But I will still do what I can so that all will go well.

It is certain, I think, that we are all of us thinking of the little one, and that Jo says what she wants. Theo, like myself, will, I believe, arrange ourselves to her opinion. For myself, I can only say at the moment that I think we all need rest - I feel exhausted. So much for me - I feel that this is the lot which I accept and which will not change.

But all the more reason, putting aside all ambition, we can live together for years without ruining each other. You see that with the canvases which are still at St. Rémy, there are at least 8 with the 4 here, I am trying not to lose my skill. It is the absolute truth, however, that it is difficult to acquire a certain facility in production, and by ceasing to work, I shall lose it more quickly and more easily than the pains it has cost to acquire it. And the prospect grows darker, I see no happy future at all.

Write me by return mail if you haven't already written, and good handshakes in thought. I would hope that there was a possibility of seeing each other again soon with more collected minds.

Vincent


At this time, Vincent was 37 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 10 July 1890 in Auvers-sur-Oise. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 648.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/21/648.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback