van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Auvers-sur-Oise, 3 June 1890
Relevant paintings:


"Portrait of Doctor Gachet," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Self-Portrait," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"L'Arlesienne (Madame Ginoux)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"L'Arlesienne (Madame Ginoux)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Doctor Gachet's Garden in Auvers," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Marguerite Gachet in the Garden," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Pieta (after Delacroix)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

Mon cher Theo,

Déjà depuis plusieurs jours j'aurais désiré t'écrire à tête reposée, mais ai été absorbé par le travail. Ce matin arrive ta lettre, de laquelle je te remercie et du billet de 50 fr. qu'elle contenait. Oui je crois que pour bien des choses il serait bien que nous fussions encore ensemble tous ici pour une huitaine de tes vacances, si plus longtemps n'est pas possible. Je pense souvent à toi, à Jo et au petit, et je vois que les enfants ici au grand air sain ont l'air de bien se porter. Et pourtant c'est déjà ici aussi difficile assez de les élever, à plus forte raison est-ce plus ou moins terrible à de certains moments de les garder sains et saufs à Paris dans un quatrième étage. Mais enfin il faut prendre les choses comme elles sont. M. Gachet dit qu'il faut que père et mère se nourrissent bien naturellement, il parle de prendre 2 litres de bière par jour, etc., dans ces mesures-là. Mais tu feras certes avec plaisir plus ample connaissance avec lui et il y compte déjà, en parle toutes les fois que je le vois, que vous tous viendrez. Il me parait certes aussi malade et ahuri que toi ou moi, et il est plus âgé et il a perdu il y a quelques années sa femme, mais il est très médecin et son métier et sa foi le tiennent pourtant. Nous sommes déjà très amis et par hasard il a connu encore Brias de Montpellier et a les mêmes idées sur lui que j'ai, que c'est quelqu'un d'important dans l'histoire de l'art moderne.

Je travaille à son portrait, la tête avec une casquette blanche, très blonde, très claire, les mains aussi à carnation claire, un frac bleu et un fond bleu cobalt, appuyé sur une table rouge, sur laquelle un livre jaune et une plante de digitale à fleurs pourpres. Cela est dans le même sentiment que le portrait de moi, que j'ai pris lorsque je suis parti pour ici.

M. Gachet est absolument fanatique pour ce portrait, et veut que j'en fasse un de lui, si je peux, absolument comme cela, ce que je désire faire aussi. Il est maintenant aussi arrivé à comprendre le dernier portrait d'Arlésienne, dont tu en as un en rose; il revient lorsqu'il vient voir les études tout le temps sur ces deux portraits et il les admet en plein, mais en plein, tels qu'ils sont.

J'espère t'envoyer un portrait de lui bientôt. Puis j'ai peint chez lui deux études, que je lui ai données semaine passée, un aloès avec des soucis et des cyprès, puis dimanche dernier des roses blanches, de la vigne et une figure blanche là-dedans.

Je ferai très probablement aussi le portrait de sa fille qui a 19 ans, et avec laquelle je me figure aisément que Jo sera vite amies.

Alors je m'en fais une fête de faire les portraits de vous tous en plein air: le tien, celui de Jo et celui du petit.

J'ai encore rien trouvé d'intéressant en fait d'atelier possible, et il faudra pourtant prendre une chambre pour y mettre les toiles qui sont de trop chez toi et qui sont chez Tanguy. Car il faut encore beaucoup y retoucher. Mais enfin je vis au jour le jour - il fait si beau. Et la santé va bien, je me couche à 9 heures, mais me lève à 5 h la plupart du temps.

Mais lui aussi se plaint amèrement de l'état de choses partout dans les villages où il est venu le moindre étranger, que la vie y devient si horriblement chère. Il dit qu'il s'étonne que les gens où je suis me logent et nourrissent pour cela et que j'ai encore relativement à d'autres qui sont venus et qu'il a connus, de la chance. Que si tu viens et Jo et le petit, vous ne pourrez faire mieux que de loger à cette même auberge. Maintenant rien, absolument rien ne nous retient ici, que Gachet - mais celui-là restera un ami à ce que je présumerais. Je sens que chez lui je peux faire un tableau pas trop mal toutes les fois que j'y vais et il continuera bien de m'inviter à dîner tous les dimanches ou lundis.

Enfin le père Gachet est beaucoup, mais beaucoup comme toi et moi. J'ai lu avec plaisir dans ta lettre que M. Peyron a demandé de mes nouvelles en t'écrivant, je vais lui écrire que cela va bien ce soir même, car il était très bon pour moi et je ne l'oublierai certes pas.

Desmoulins, celui qui a des tableaux japonais au Champ de Mars, est revenu ici et j'espère bien le rencontrer.

Qu'est-ce qu'a dit Gauguin du dernier portrait d'Arlésienne, qui est fait sur son dessin ? Tu finiras par voir, je croirais, que cela est une des choses les moins mauvaises que j'ai faites. Gachet a un Guillaumin, femme nue sur un lit que je trouve fort belle, il a aussi un très ancien portrait de Guillaumin par lui, très différent du nôtre, noir mais intéressant.

Mais sa maison tu verras c'est plein, plein, comme un marchand d'antiquités, de choses pas toujours intéressantes, c’est terrible. Mais dans tout cela il y a ceci de bon que pour arranger des fleurs ou des natures mortes, il y aurait toujours de quoi.J'ai fait ces études pour lui, pour lui montrer, que si ce n'est pas un cas où on lui payerait en argent, nous le dédommagerons pourtant toujours de ce qu'il ferait pour nous.

Connais-tu une eau-forte de Bracquemond, le portrait de Comte, c'est un chef-d'oeuvre.

Puis aussitôt que tu pourrais me les envoyer, je tiendrais absolument à copier encore une fois toutes les Études au fusain de Bargue, tu sais les figures nues.Je peux les dessiner relativement vite, mettons dans un mois, les 60 feuilles qu'il y a, donc tu enverrais un exemplaire en commission, je ferais en sorte de ne pas les tacher ou salir. Si je négligeais d'étudier encore les proportions et le nu, je me trouverais mal pris plus tard. Que cela ne te paraisse pas absurde ou inutile.

Gachet m'a dit aussi, que si je voulais lui faire un grand plaisir, il désirerait que je refasse pour lui la copie de la Pietà de Delacroix qu'il a regardée très longtemps. Dans la suite probablement il me donnera un coup de main pour les modèles; je sens qu'il nous comprendra tout à fait et qu'il travaillera avec toi et moi sans arrière-pensée, pour l'amour de l'art pour l'art, de toute son intelligence. Et il me fera peut-être bien avoir des portraits. Je trouve seulement que tout le bruit qu'ont fait les grands prix payés dans les derniers temps pour des Millet, etc., ont encore empiré l'état de choses, quant à la chance qu'on a rien que de rentrer dans ses frais de peinture. C'est à avoir le vertige. Donc qu'y penserons nous, cela abrutirait. Mieux vaut encore peut-être chercher un peu d'amitié et vivre au jour le jour.

J'espère que le petit continuera à aller bien et vous deux également, jusqu'au revoir, à bientôt, je vous serre bien la main.

Vincent


At this time, Vincent was 37 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 3 June 1890 in Auvers-sur-Oise. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 638.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/21/638-fr.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback

van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Auvers-sur-Oise, 3 June 1890
Relevant paintings:


"Portrait of Doctor Gachet," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Self-Portrait," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"L'Arlesienne (Madame Ginoux)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"L'Arlesienne (Madame Ginoux)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Doctor Gachet's Garden in Auvers," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Marguerite Gachet in the Garden," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]


"Pieta (after Delacroix)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

My dear Theo,

I have been wanting to write you in a quiet moment for several days already, but I've been absorbed in my work. This morning your letter arrived, for which I thank you, and for the 50-fr. note it contained. Yes, I think that for many reasons it would be good if we could all be together again for a week of your holidays, if longer is impossible. I often think of you, Jo, and the little one, and I notice that the children here in the healthy open air look well. And yet even here it is difficult enough to bring them up, therefore it must be all the more terrifying at times to keep them safe and sound in Paris on a fourth floor. But after all, we must take things as they come. M. Gachet says that a father and mother must naturally feed themselves up, he talks of taking 2 liters of beer a day, etc., in those quantities. But you will certainly enjoy furthering your acquaintance with him, and he already counts on all of you coming, and talks about it every time I see him. He certainly seems to me as ill and dazed as you or me, and he is older and lost his wife a few years ago, but he is very much the doctor, and his profession and faith still sustain him. We are great friends already, and as it happens, he already knew Brias of Montpellier and has the same idea of him that I have, that there you have someone important in the history of modern art.

I am working on his portrait, the head with a white cap, very fair, very light, the hands also a light flesh tint, a blue frock coat and a cobalt blue background, leaning on a red table, on which are a yellow book and a foxglove plant with purple flowers. It is in the same sentiment as the self-portrait I did when I left for this place.

M. Gachet is absolutely fanatical about this portrait, and wants me to do one of him, if I can, exactly like it, which I should like to myself. He has now managed to understand the last portrait of the Arlésienne, of which you have one in pink; he always comes back to these two portraits when he comes to see the studies, and he accepts them completely, but completely, as they are.

I hope to send you a portrait of him soon. Then I have painted two studies at his house, which I gave him last week, an aloe with marigolds and cypresses, then last Sunday some white roses, vines and a white figure in it.

I shall most probably also do the portrait of his daughter, who is 19 years old, and with whom I can easily imagine Jo would quickly become friends.

Then I am looking forward to doing the portraits of all of you in the open air; yours, one of Jo and one of the little one.

I have not yet found anything interesting in the way of a possible studio, and yet we shall have to take a room to put the canvases in which are taking up too much of Tanguy's or your place. For I must still touch them up a lot. But anyway I am living from day to day - the weather is so beautiful. And I am well. I go to bed at 9 o'clock, but get up at 5 most of the time.

But he also complains bitterly of the state of things everywhere in the villages where he has gone as a total stranger, that living there gets so horribly expensive. He says he is amazed that the people I lodge with can give me board and feed me for that amount, and that compared with others who have been here and whom he has known I am even comparatively lucky. And that if you come with Jo and the little one, you could not do better than stay at this same inn. Now nothing, absolutely nothing, is keeping us here but Gachet - but he will remain a friend, I should think. I feel that I can do not too bad a painting every time I go to his house, and he will continue to ask me to dinner every Sunday or Monday.

Altogether father Gachet is very, yes very like you and me. I read with pleasure in your letter that M. Peyron asked for news of me when he wrote you. I am going to write him this very evening that all is well, for he was very good to me and I shall certainly not forget him.

Desmoulins, the man who has some Japanese pictures at the Champ de Mars, has come back here and I hope to meet him.

What did Gauguin say of the last portrait of the Arlésienne, which is done after his drawing? You will see in the end, I think, that this is one of the least bad things I have done. Gachet has a Guillaumin, a nude woman on a bed, that I think very beautiful; he also has a very old self-portrait by Guillaumin, very different from ours, dark but interesting.

But you will see that his house is full, full like an antique dealer's, of things that are not always interesting. But nevertheless there is this advantage, there is always something for arranging flowers in or for a still life. I did these studies for him to show him that if it is not a case for which he is paid in money, we will still compensate him for what he does for us.

Do you know the etching by Bracquemond, the Count's portrait? It is a masterpiece.

Then as soon as you can send them, I am terribly anxious to copy once more all the charcoal studies by Bargue, you know, the nude figures. I can draw the 60 sheets comparatively quickly, say within a month, so you might send a copy on approval; I will be sure not to stain or soil it. If I neglect to study proportion and the nude again, I shall be badly muddled later on. Don't think this absurd or useless.

Gachet also told me, that if I wished to give him great pleasure, he would like me to do again the “Pieta” by Delacroix for him, he looked at it for a long time. In the future he will probably lend me a hand in getting models; I feel that he understands us perfectly and that he will work with you and me to the best of his power, without any reserve, for the love of art for art's sake. And he will perhaps get me portraits to do. Only I think that all the babble that has been started on account of the high prices paid for Millets, etc., lately has made the chances of merely getting back one's painting expenses even worse. It is enough to make you dizzy. So why think about it? - it would exhaust us. Better perhaps to seek a little friendship and to live from day to day.

I hope that the little one continues well and you two the same. Till I see you again, goodbye for now. A good handshake

Vincent


At this time, Vincent was 37 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 3 June 1890 in Auvers-sur-Oise. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 638.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/21/638.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback