van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Arles, 18 March 1888
Relevant paintings:


"Two Lovers (Fragment)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

Mon cher Theo,

Voici un petit mot pour Bernard et pour Lautrec, auxquels j'avais formellement promis d'écrire. Je te l'envoie pour que tu le leur donnes à l'occasion, cela ne presse pas le moins du monde, et cela sera pour toi une raison de voir ce qu'ils font et d'entendre ce qu'ils disent, si tu veux. -
Mais qu'est-ce que fait Tersteeg ? rien ? Si tu n'as pas de réponse, si j'étais de toi je lui écrirais un mot très court et très calme, mais exprimant que tu es stupéfait de ce qu'il ne t'ait pas répondu. (+)
Je ne crois pas qu'il faille insister par une nouvelle lettre, expliquant encore une fois la chose. Il faut être prudent avec lui, mais ce qu'il faut éviter c'est de se laisser traiter comme si l'on était mort ou hors la loi. Suffit.
- Espérons que dans l'intervalle tu aies reçu sa réponse.
J'ai reçu un mot de Gauguin, qui se plaint du mauvais temps, qui souffre toujours et qui dit que rien ne l'agace plus que le manque d'argent parmi la variété des contrariétés humaines et pourtant il se sent condamné à la dèche à perpétuité.
Ces derniers jours vent et pluie, j'ai travaillé chez moi à l'étude dont j'ai fait un croquis dans la lettre de Bernard. Je voulais arriver à y mettre des couleurs comme dans les vitraux et un dessin à lignes fermes.
Suis en train de lire Pierre et Jean, de Guy de Maupassant, c'est beau. As-tu lu la préface, expliquant la liberté qu'a l'artiste d'exagérer, de créer une nature plus belle, plus simple, plus consolante dans un roman, puis expliquant ce que voulait peut-être bien dire le mot de Flaubert: le talent est une longue patience, et l'originalité un effort de volonté et d'observation intense ?
Il y a ici un portique gothique, que je commence à trouver admirable, le portique de St.-Trophime.
Mais c'est si cruel, si monstrueux, comme un cauchemar chinois, que même ce beau monument d'un si grand style me semble d'un autre monde, auquel je suis aussi bien aise de ne pas appartenir qu'au monde glorieux du Romain Néron.
Faut-il dire la vérité, et y ajouter que les zouaves, les bordels, les adorables petites Arlésiennes qui s'en vont faire leur première communion, le prêtre en surplis qui ressemble à un rhinocéros dangereux, les buveurs d'absinthe, me paraissent aussi des êtres d'un autre monde ?
C'est pas pour dire que je me sentirais chez moi dans un monde artistique, mais c'est pour dire que j'aime mieux me blaguer que de me sentir seul. Et il me semble que je me sentirais triste, si je ne prenais pas toutes choses par le côté blague.
Tu as encore eu de la neige en abondance à Paris, à ce que nous raconte notre ami L'lntransigeant. Ce n'est pourtant pas mal trouvé qu'un journaliste conseille au général Boulanger de se servir désormais pour donner le change à la police secrète, de lunettes roses, qui selon lui iraient mieux avec la barbe du général. Peut-être, cela influencerait-il d'une façon favorable, déjà tant désirée depuis si longtemps, le commerce des tableaux.
Nous allons néanmoins un peu voir ce qu'il y a dans ce fameux monsieur Tersteeg. Faut qu'il se prononce vraiment, dans l'intérêt des copains nous sommes à ce qu'il me semble un peu obligés de ne pas permettre que l'on nous considère comme des morts. Il ne s'agit pas de nous, mais il s'agit de l'affaire des impressionnistes en général, donc ayant été interpellé par nous, il nous faut sa réponse.

Et a-t-il calculé comme nous l'effet produit de baisse sur les tableaux de grand prix actuellement, baisse qui, il me semble, se produira probablement dès que les impressionnistes auront la hausse. Remarquez que les vendeurs de tableaux chers s'abîment eux-mêmes en s'opposant pour des raisons politiques à l'avènement d'une école, qui depuis des années a montré une énergie et une persévérance dignes de Millet, Daubigny et d'autres.
Mais fais-moi savoir si Tersteeg t'a écrit, et ce qu'il pourrait t'avoir dit. Je ne ferai rien là-dedans sans toi. Bonne chance et poignée de main,
t. à t. Vincent.
Ci-inclus avec les autres lettres celle de Gauguin, pour que tu les lises.

(+)Je dis personnellement parce que quand bien même qu'il ne me répond pas à moi - à toi - il doit répondre, et tu dois insister pour avoir une réponse, sans cela tu y perdrais de ton aplomb, et au contraire l'occasion est excellente pour en prendre.


At this time, Vincent was 34 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 18 March 1888 in Arles. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 470.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/18/470-fr.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: English < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback

van Gogh's letters - unabridged and annotated
 
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >
Letter from Vincent van Gogh to Theo van Gogh
Arles, 18 March 1888
Relevant paintings:


"Two Lovers (Fragment)," Vincent van Gogh
[Enlarge]

My dear Theo,

Here is a short note for Bernard and for Lautrec, to whom I expressly promised to write. I send them to you so you can hand them over when you have a chance, but there is absolutely no hurry whatever, and it will be an excuse for you to see what they are doing and hear what they have to say, if you want to.

But what is Tersteeg doing? Nothing? If you have had no reply, if I were you I should write him a very short and very cool note, but conveying that you are amazed at not getting a reply from him. (+)

I do not think that we should press him in a fresh letter, explaining the business all over again. One must be careful when dealing with him, but what must be avoided is letting oneself be treated as if one were dead or outlawed. That's all.

Let's hope that meanwhile you have had an answer from him.

I had a note from Gauguin, who complains about the bad weather, is still ailing, and says that of all the various miseries that afflict humanity, nothing maddens him more than the lack of money, and yet he feels doomed to perpetual poverty.

Wind and rain these last few days. I've worked at home on the study which I made a sketch of in Bernard's letter [B2]. I wanted to manage to get colours into it like stained glass windows, and a good, firm drawing.

I am in the middle of Pierre et Jean by Guy de Maupassant. It's good. Have you read the preface, where he explains the artist's liberty to exaggerate, to create in his novel a world more beautiful, more simple, more consoling than ours, and goes on to explain what Flaubert may have meant when he said that “Talent is long patience, and originality an effort of will and of intense observation”?

There is a Gothic portico here, which I am beginning to think admirable, the porch of St. Trophime.

But it is so cruel, so monstrous, like a Chinese nightmare, that even this beautiful monument of so grand a style seems to me of another world, and I am as glad not to belong to it as to that glorious world of the Roman Nero.

Must I tell the truth and add that the Zouaves, the brothels, the adorable little Arlésiennes going to their first Communion, the priest in his surplice, who looks like a dangerous rhinoceros, the absinthe drinkers, all seem to me to be beings of another world? That doesn't mean that I'd feel at home in an artistic world, but that I would rather fool myself than feel alone. And I think I should feel depressed if I did not fool myself about everything.

You have already had heavy snow in Paris according to our friend L'Intransigeant. It wasn't a bad idea, that journalist advising General Boulanger to wear rose-coloured spectacles, so as to put the secret police on the wrong scent: according to him they'd match his beard better. It might have a favourable influence on the picture trade - it's been wanted for long enough.

But we really must get some idea of what our excellent Mr. Tersteeg is up to. He must declare himself! In the interest of our comrades it seems to me it's almost our business not to allow them to think of us as dead. It is not about us, but the whole question of the impressionists is at stake, and having been challenged by us, he must give us an answer.

If we consider it desirable to hold a permanent exhibition of the impressionists in London and Marseilles, it goes without saying that we'll try to set them up.

And if not, what are his intentions with regard to the offensive, do they exist or not?

The question remains, will Tersteeg be in it? Yes or no?

And has he taken into account, as we have, the resulting depreciation of the value of pictures now highly priced, a depreciation that will, I think, probably set in as soon as the impressionist's stock rises. You observe that the dealers in expensive pictures ruin themselves by opposing for policy reasons the advent of a school which for years has shown an energy and perseverance worthy of Millet, Daubigny and others.

But let me know if Tersteeg has written you, and what he may have said. I will do nothing in this without you. Good luck and a handshake.

Ever yours, Vincent

I enclose Gauguin's letter with the others so that you can read all of them.

[Footnote added to the bottom of page 1:]

(+) I say to write yourself, because even though he doesn't answer me, he must answer you, and you must insist on a reply or else you will lose you assurance with him, and on the contrary this is an excellent opportunity for improving it.


At this time, Vincent was 34 year old
Source:
Vincent van Gogh. Letter to Theo van Gogh. Written 18 March 1888 in Arles. Translated by Robert Harrison, edited by Robert Harrison, number 470.
URL: http://webexhibits.org/vangogh/letter/18/470.htm.

This letter may be freely used, in accordance with the terms of this site.
» Home Switch to: French < Previous   Next >

 
or find:

webexhibits.org/vangogh/         Credits & feedback